Midterms are here!

Hey, all Midterms are coming this week and well the first part of my proposal is about done. Some Documentation work is all that’s remaining.

Well, my first part involved integrating the Leap Python API and Blender  PythonAPI and initially It was tough to integrate as the Leap API is designed for Python2.7 whereas the Blender only supported Python3.5. Hence I wasn’t able to integrate at first, thus I came to another solution. The other solution was to send data from the python2.7 script to the blender Python API using a socket connection. This worked well however it was somewhat inefficient and slow. Hence I thought I will try to generate a Python3.5 wrapper for the LeapSDK. however after days of trying I found a Solution with a little help from the Community and thus was able to generate a Python3.5 Wrapper for the Leap SDK through Swig. The Wrapper worked perfectly fine and thus I successfully

Hence I thought I will try to generate a Python3.5 wrapper for the LeapSDK. This sounded easy but was anything but easy. I found little support online, there were pages that were meant to help but most of them were for windows and very few for ubuntu. However after days of trying I found a Solution with a little help from the Community and thus was able to generate a Python3.5 Wrapper for the Leap SDK through Swig. The Wrapper worked perfectly fine and thus I successfully integrated the two API.

I talked to my mentor to talk about the gesture support required for the project and added more gesture support.

I am now documenting my code and preparing myself for the second part of my project.

Leave a comment